#ThinThursday #3

Apologies for vanishing… It wasn’t intentional but I kinda lost my mojo. Especially when on my third weigh-in I had a gain that I really was not expecting! It was only 1/2 a pound but as I had been going extra hard at the gym (including finding alternative gyms to go to when I visited my parents instead of taking days off and upping my workouts to an hour each time) and being really good with the food I really didn’t feel it was deserved. My leader explained to me that this kind of thing can happen as the body adjusts to an increase in exercise so I persevered and with great trepidation stepped on the scales last week… To have a massive 7.5lb off!!!! 😀 This meant that I got my first half stone cert… And then at the end of the meeting I was awarded Slimmer of the Month for July – a massive achievement for my first month!!


Unfortunately this week I was up 1lb again but I know that its water retention so I can accept that, I know with a good week that it (and more) should be gone by the time I weigh in next week!! i really feel that Slimming World is working for me! 🙂

The half lb gain I had made me really focus on NSVs (Non Scale Victories):

  • I am making healthier choices for myself. My body no longer tolerates processed or fatty food easily. My complexion has improved dramatically.
  • My blood pressure is consistently in the normal range.
  • I am rediscovering my love for cooking.
  • I can now do a full hour of cardio in the gym without melting into a puddle.
  • I have managed to do 1km on the treadmill in 11 minutes, and 6km on the bike in 14 minutes 45 seconds.
  • I have dropped a full two dress sizes since I last went shopping (pre-stroke). Even the newer smaller sizes are starting to get loose on me!
  • I am toning up all over as I am exercising as I go and friends and family have commented on the change in my body shape, this also means I am trying clothes I wouldn’t necessarily have tried before as things that suited in the past don’t necessarily suit now!
  • And while it is a scale victory of sorts since I was weighed on admission to the hospital on March 6th I have lost 2 stone 3lb/just over 14kg… Thats more than your average two year old weighs!! 🙂
  • My self confidence is improving.

 

This entry was posted in personal, ThinThursday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to #ThinThursday #3

  1. robyntmorton says:

    Bravo! Such great results you are getting! So happy for you 🙂

  2. WELL DONE!! I’m absolutely delighted for you, all those NSVs are such a great reason to keep going. Proud of you xx

  3. You’re doing so good. It always happens where you have a good first week and then the body goes into shock and retains salts and water but don’t let that get you down if you’re not losing weight, over time you will. You must be delighted with you progress x

Leave a Reply

