#BEDN: A Fond Farewell

 Today is the first day of #BEDN – Blog Every Day November. It is the brain child of Rosalilium and you can find all the details here.

Todays suggested topic is Introduction but if you follow me on Twitter you will know that today was more about farewells for me.

On Tuesday I got a text from my mother to let me know that our beloved cat, Crikey, had taken a turn at 5am and things were not looking good. Throughout the week we fully investigated all options but unfortunately today the decision had to be made to let him go for his own sake. To say we are all heartbroken is an understatement.

Crikey came into our lives four years ago as he was rehomed by a previous owner. I spotted his photo online and I just knew that he was meant to be ours. My mum and I went to Dublin to get him and drove him home. He has been adored since.

Crikey was able to talk to us and would tell us when he wanted to go ‘out’. You couldn’t walk past ‘his’ chair without acknowledging him. He loved tuna and if you opened a tin you had to share it with him. He was the best cat in the world and he will be very greatly missed.

Crikey died in my arms at 6:49pm today in Dublin Animal Emergency Centre. He has been brought home and buried in his favourite patch in the garden with his favourite blanket around him.

“‘Ohana” meansfamily.” “Family” means “no one gets left behind.”

The staff in DAEC and our own family vet in Athlone cannot be thanked enough for all of the help and support they have given us this week. We will never forget it.

This entry was posted in #BEDN, personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to #BEDN: A Fond Farewell

  1. I’m so sorry it wasn’t better news for you all – at least little Crikey isn’t in any pain now but what a bonny little kitty he was x

  2. Yaz says:

    He seemed like a lovely cat. I’m really sorry xx

  3. Aundrea says:

    I’m so sorry Hun, we had Jesse for 15 years and she died in my arms too, I know what you’re going through, we have her paw print in the cement at our back door. It’s heartbreaking losing a member of your family because that’s what they become. Thinking of you x

  4. Aww. I’m so sorry to hear that. We lost our family cat, Bella, a year ago this week after 18 years together. I was heartbroken and still miss her every day, so I know how devastated you must feel. 😦 Leanne at Knit me a cake. x

  5. Natalie says:

    Sorry to hear about Crikey. He seemed like a lovely cat!
    Hope your doing okay lovely.

    Natalie xx

  6. Laura says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about Crikey. I understand how hard it must be for you, but just remember the good memories you had x

  7. Oh my goodness so sorry for your loss. I am a massive animal lover, and know how special they all are to us… Hugs xx

  8. I’m so sorry to hear about your loss, it’s so hard to let a pet go, but you did the right thing for him and you gave him a wonderful few years as part of your family. I hope you have loads of happy memories of him and that he has a way of sending a little bit of happiness back to you in some way, I lost my cat Orange a few years ago and I still miss him x

  9. What a beautiful cat, so sorry for your loss. I’ll never forget how upset I was when my cat roxy died. Animals take up a special little place in your heart. x

  10. Kara says:

    He was beautiful, I’m sorry x

Leave a Reply

