TAG: DIY or DFY Beauty

I saw this tag over on OhhKaye and she originally saw it on The Happy Sloths. Apparently the tag was originally the brainchild of Vanity Rouge but I think some minor changes have been made over time.

DIY if you weren’t aware stands for Do It Yourself and DFY stands for Done For You. Let’s get into the categories!

1. Brows
This is a mix. I used to always get them waxed… Then I started doing them myself. I’ll still allow them to grow wild occasionally and treat myself to getting them done in the hope of finding the perfect shape for my face as I tend to play it fairly safe when doing them myself.

2. Hair
I always get my hair done professionally. I have a hairdresser that I LOVE and would trust with my life (Hi Dympna!). When I was younger I used to use home dying kits and I firmly believe that they wrecked my hair so I refuse to use them now.

3. Mani/Pedi
I have never had a pedi. I hate feet! I have had a few manicures but lately I tend to do them myself. I find it really relaxing and I normally do my own Shellac at the same time.

4. Body Hair Removal
This is a combination. Some I do myself, some I get others to do. Depends on the context/method etc.

5. Makeup for a special Occasion
I used to get my makeup done but since training as a Makeup Artist myself I haven’t let anyone else do my makeup for any occasion. The only exception to this was for my sisters wedding and to be honest it killed me letting someone else loose. It turned out beautiful but I just felt very strange about it.

6. Skincare
This is all me! I don’t let anyone else at my skin since I had a rather expensive facial about 4 years ago that ruined my face for ages afterwards, leaving it really dry. I have certain products that are ‘pampering’ products for me and I love to do a pampering evening with them.

So which do you DIY, which are strictly DFY and which depend on time, money etc? Let me know in the comments!

This entry was posted in Tag and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to TAG: DIY or DFY Beauty

  1. You are lucky, I have yet to find “the hairdresser” for me!

  2. Bridget says:

    I do my own skincare too, my skin reacted badly to the last facial I had in a beauty salon so it’s DIY now. I like getting my hair done at the hairdresser but I’ve got a sensitive scalp so I bring in my own henna hair dye (Surya Brasil) and they put it in for me. Interesting post πŸ™‚

  3. VanityRouge says:

    I’m so glad you joined in the tag! πŸ™‚ I loved reading what you DIY and DFY! You are so lucky having found the perfect hairdresser! I had one that I loved and I would go in and say ‘do with my hair what you wish!’ and when she was done working her magic it would be fabulous! Those were the days! Well, then I moved away though, and ever since I’ve been searching for “the one” who will know what to do with my hair even before I do! πŸ˜‰ Haha, a touch dramatic, I know, but after all it is hair, am I right?! πŸ˜‰

  4. DIY all the way! Living in the middle of the country, there just aren’t any professionals I trust to have the expertise to look after my needs. I think it’s be different if I lived in Dublin. I’ve had one facial ever, and I was so traumatised after I vowed never again. She RUINED my face by extracting stuff that wasn’t ready to come out. I even cut my own hair now after a hairdresser didn’t listen to me and did whatever she wanted to my tresses! The only thing I’m tempted to get done for me is bikini waxing. Waaaaaaay too chicken to attempt that!

    • It’s definitely tougher to find the right person when you live outside of the city. When I first moved I stayed going up to my hairdresser in Dublin rather than try find someone new.

  5. Another one who has envy for your hairdresser! We move so often that I find it hard to find a good one and even if I do I tend to move a yr or so on and that’s them gone doh! I feel sad that one facial spoiled it for you. You should try and find somebody local with good reviews and tell them your worries in the consultation – gotta love a relaxing facial

  6. I won’t let anyone do my skincare, I had the same problem after getting a facial and it destroyed my skin for months! Brilliant tag to do I hadn’t seen it before xx

Leave a Reply

