#SBBC Day 8: How to maintain healthy hair

I have incredibly thick hair. It sounds like everyone’s dream – but they don’t have to deal with it! It is too heavy to hold a curl most of the time so instead it is wavy with a slight tendency to frizz! I’m also lucky enough that I started going grey at a very young age and have had to dye my hair on an ongoing basis since I was about 17 to cover my ever more extensive greys! Don’t ya wish you were me? 😛

Even as a young child my mother warned me to be very careful with my hair. She used to scare me by saying that if I let it get knotted/into bad condition that she would have to shave my head as it wouldn’t be possible to fix it. I was so afraid she was right that I have always minded my hair. This still didn’t stop me having a dreadful scare when I went to get highlights done for the first time as an adult and they did a strand test… The strand of hair disintegrated completely – purely from the damage done by home colouring!

I’ve never been one to use heat on my hair. The fact that it is so thick makes blowdrying or straightening it a pretty arduous task so I tend to just let nature take it’s course. I own a GHD but I have used it on my own hair about twice… At most! If I want my hair straightened for an event I go to my hairdressers and get it blow dried straight. Much less hassle! 😉

Lush H'Suan Wen Hua, Mark Hill MiracOILicious shampoo and hair mask, Orofluido Conditioner, Ojon  restorative hair serum.

Lush H’Suan Wen Hua, Mark Hill MiracOILicious shampoo and hair mask, Orofluido Conditioner, Ojon restorative hair serum.

Keeping my hair in good condition is mainly down to the products I use and the fact that I haven’t heat damaged my hair. I figured it has enough to deal with in getting coloured every 4-5 weeks! The above products are the ones I am currently using – and loving!

Lush H’Suan Wen Hua and Ojon restorative hair serum are both products that I reviewed as part of my post on hair products during #JuneBBC (here).

I reviewed *Mark Hill MiracOILicious shampoo and hair mask here.  I’ve been using them since July and am loving them! A little goes a long way with the mask and it is *so* effective. I highly recommend it! Both products smell fab too! 🙂 If I am using the mask I don’t use the Ojon serum as I feel that would be overloading my hair with products.

Orofluido Conditioner is a relatively new addition to the routine. I’m loving that this is in a pump bottle. The smell is amazing and the conditioner seems really effective too. My mum is a massive fan of the hair mask from this range and I have heard nothing but good things about it. I use this conditioner if I am not using the Mark Hill MiracOILicious mask and will usually use the Ojon serum afterwards.

My hair is in great condition at the moment – despite my having gotten my highlights back in over the summer. In fact, I was recently asked if I had ever coloured my hair so that just shows me how natural and in good condition it looks. 🙂

Let me know if you have tried any of these products? What do you use?

* denotes PR Sample – everything else I bought myself… Hair products would make a pretty crap gift! 😛

This entry was posted in #SBBC, Hair and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to #SBBC Day 8: How to maintain healthy hair

  1. I’ve been going grey since I was about 21, which is SO handy, isn’t it? My Nana was completely white before she hit 30! I’ve quite thick coarse hair, I haven’t used the Orofluido conditioner but I do use the serum and it’s brilliant (plus it smells unreal) x

  2. I really like the sound of the Mark Hill mask, My hair is meh right now so need to do something to shake up the routine!

Leave a Reply

