SoukSouk Beauty Box – August 2013

Yesterday was an incredibly busy day with two events on… And apparently it was a busy day for my postie too cos I got loads of stuff I was waiting on – including my SoukSouk box for August. I had seen tweets that the company did showing the magazine cover and saying that there was a bonus surprise this month so I was eagerly waiting to see what they had in store!

SoukSouk August 2013

The cover of the magazine is particularly striking this month. Topics covered include: cruelty free brushes, nude nails and the use of petroleum mineral oil in skincare products. The packaging for the box itself was the ususal brown box with brown shredded paper – all suitable for recycling!

Bloom remedies daily balance cream Dr Alkaitis Organic Day Night Cream Alva Stressed Hands Cream Avril certified organic mascara in black Avril eyelash curler SoukSouk august 2013

Prior to receiving the box I hadn’t heard of any of the brands included so they are all completely new to me. This is one of the big positives for me about SoukSouk as the items tend to be things that I couldn’t just pick up in Boots on any given day. So, on with telling you what I received:

Dr. Alkaitis Organic Day and Night Cream (both are RRP £69.50 for 50ml)- These two little samples are counted separately but as in other boxes SoukSouk have included two items that work together. They are supposed to be suited to ultra-sensitive skin which is brilliant for me. These are perfect for a night or two away so I will be holding on to them for that. According to their website they don’t believe you should put something on your skin that you couldn’t eat… Don’t think I’ll be tasting these though!

Bloom Remedies Daily Balance Cream (RRP £10.99 for 50ml) – This moisturiser contains 77% organic ingredients including sweet orange, geranium and rose oils to replenish and balance, antioxidants rosemary and seabuckthorn and sweet almond oil and Vitamin E to nourish. It smells lovely and reminds me of something that I can’t quite put my finger on. It’s a very relaxing scent and this felt fabulous on my skin.

Avril Certified Organic Mascara in Black (RRP €7) – This is a French cosmetics brand (thank God for Chrome translating the website!). I haven’t opened the mascara yet as I want to keep it fresh until I can use it within 3 months. I’ve been trying to use more natural and mineral makeup so I shall be using this when my PurMinerals mascara is finished. The bonus item in the box is an Avril Eyelash Curler (RRP €1.50). I think it was a great idea to pop this in to go with the mascara. I can’t believe it’s only worth €1.50 though. It looks a lot more.

Alva Stressed Hands Cream (RRP £3.20 for 18ml) – I have to be honest – my heart sank when I saw a hand cream included. I could sell the stuff at this stage so I almost didn’t even try this one. I’m so glad that I did however as it’s fabulous! It contains avocado oil and chamomile so it is very nourishing and calming and it also has tea-tree oil antibacterial tea tree and anti-fungal calendula so that it is anti-bacterial. I quite often use hand sanitiser at work so this is perfect for applying after that.

Have you heard of any of these brands? Do you like the idea of SoukSouk or would you rather items that are easier to access?

 

This entry was posted in Beauty Boxes, Eco Friendly, Makeup, Skincare and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

