Slattery Communications Blogger Event

As a culchie blogger it isn’t often that I manage to make it up to Dublin mid-week for events even though I always try my best. I was thrilled when on Wednesday I managed to make it up to Slatterys on time for their wonderful meet and greet. It was held in their offices and was a great chance for us all to put names to faces. I knew Niamh (Hopkins) worked there as I chatted with her on Twitter but it was lovely to meet the others too. We were all made to feel very welcome and a great spread of food and drinks to cater for all tastes was laid out which was very thoughtful of them!

Each of the girls came around and chatted with us informally which was really lovely as they weren’t just pushing their brands onto us. They were genuinely interested in hearing about each of our blogs, our views on social media and topics completely unrelated to PR/blogging too of course! It was great to hear about their beauty brands but I also got to hear about some really interesting things like the GAA jewellery (website here) and the Sole Sister Flats.

Slattery Communications, John Frieda, He Shi tan, Sudocrem, Skinician

After we had chatted for about an hour we were treated to a talk by Aisling Keenan (Staff Editor/Beauty Editor, U Magazine) and Lorna Claire Weightman (Xposé, StyleIsle, Grazia Daily, Huffington Post – amongst others!). Both of these lovely ladies talked to us about how they had begun blogging and what it had lead on to for them. They were both so encouraging and inspiring and I thank them for that. I can away with a new energy for bringing my blog into places I had shied away from before. Niamh Hopkins joined the chat informally talking about the role of PR and how PR and Bloggers can and should work together. She definitely put me at ease when approaching PR firms! Overall the talk was just so positive that I was buzzing by the time it finished! 

We were also given insanely generous sample bags at the event so expect to hear plenty about the brands that Slatterys represent in future. Products I am most looking forward to using include He Shi tan, John Frieda haircare (if it can tame this frizz it’s a miracle worker!) and the new skincare brand Skinician! I have to be honest and say it was also great getting a Sudocrem sample as it’s so useful and something I never think to pick up – thanks for that Mary!

Hope you are all having a lovely bank holiday weekend!

This entry was posted in Bloggers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Slattery Communications Blogger Event

  1. OPI Addict says:

    Sounds like so much fun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

