Confessions of a Beauty Blogger tag

I went for an unplanned nap this evening and missed the #irishbbloggers chat that takes place every Monday night from 8:30pm to 9:30pm on twitter. I’m really disappointed as I love this chat. I feel it gives me loads of inspiration for the blog as well as being a great source of support. Tonight’s topic was ‘beauty confessions’ which would have been a fun topic too. As they say “You snooze, you lose!” which is so, so true in this case! 😦

Anyway, when I saw the topic I had missed I went on to Google to see if there were any Beauty Confessions tags. This tag is the nearest I could find! It was originally a YouTube tag so I can’t find who actually came up with it but I found it here where it was done by Sophie on her blog.

1. How many hours a week do you spend planning/writing/uploading posts?
It’s hard to tell as some weeks it’s more than others. I am trying to get into a routine with doing photos in one sitting once a week which should reduce the amount of time but currently overall I’m guessing I spend about 10-12 hours on the blog weekly between photos, posts and replying to comments. I love every minute of it!

2. Are you a spender or a saver?
Spender. I’m a complete spender. I think most beauty bloggers are though. And you should see the carnage that comes out of a few of us meeting up together – enablement central! I’m working on saving more though and will have a spending ban coming up!

3. When is it easiest for you to write your posts?
I tend to do my posts in the evening but that’s the worst time for doing photos so it depends on what post I need to do and if I have the photos done in advance! Most posts are done between 10pm and midnight – especially during the week as I am working full time in addition to blogging.

4. What makes writing posts comfortable for you?
The support I get from my fellow bloggers! It’s the most amazing thing ever. They have encouraged me to spread my wings more with my topics and are so complimentary when I try something new. I love getting the feedback as I am also sure if I try something and it’s crap they will tell me.

5. What’s your worst make up/hair habit?
Probably the fact that I don’t do anything with my hair! It’s very thick and only just at a length that I can tie it back now. I will spend forever doing my makeup for a night out and then do nothing with my hair. I own a GHD that I bought 7 years ago… I think I have used it about 3 times! Others have used it, but I haven’t! I can’t even straighten my own hair! I’m really dire and one of these days I will work on it!

6. What’s one quote you wish the world would live by?
I find it really difficult to pick just one quote but I love the poem Desiderata and feel that it is full of wisdom. I used to keep it by my desk at work and could always find a line in it that spoke to me on any given day.

Image taken off google and found at http://www.spirasolaris.ca/desiderata.gif

7. How long do you spend getting ready everyday?
Probably about 45 minutes. It depends on if I have been organised and showered the night before and left my clothes ready or not! I don’t wear makeup daily so that means I am a lot quicker than I would be if I had to put my face on each morning!

8. What’s your favourite post on your blog?
I don’t have an immediate favourite but if I have to choose it would by my post. It’s one that leaves me feeling a bit vulnerable and one of the hardest posts I have written from that point of view but one I read back with pride.

9. Who is a beauty blogger that you think deserves more subscribers that they have?
All of the girls I interact with on Twitter really. I love to see them getting more and more followers and celebrating when they reach a new milestone! I think RaRa Giggles should definitely have loads of subscribers as her posts are great and I love how she does her swatches in particular! She’s also a dote so if you are reading this go check her out!! Go on – GO! I’ll still be here when you get back!

10. What’s one this you’re excited about in the coming year?
I’m just really excited to see where I can bring the blog in the next 12 months! I know it’s a year old already but I feel like the work that has gone into it since May is really paying off and I am wishing I had been as dedicated sooner. It’s still only a baby blog really so I want to do as much as I can with it! I’m also excited about meeting more of the bloggers that I read and interact with on social media. The blogging community in Ireland excites me as I think there is a great dynamic overall!

11. What’s been your favourite blogging moment?
Probably the last day of #JuneBBC when the girls who took part were doing their reflection posts. I was really overwhelmed by how lovely they were and so relieved that they were all so positive about it! So much so that I have signed myself up for the same madness again in October!

12. How long does it take to prep for a post?
The prep could be 5 minutes or it could be 5+ hours. It depends entirely on the post. For example – this post didn’t take much prep as it’s all just writing really. Another post with pics may take a lot longer if you need to sort the products, the lighting, taking the pics, editing them, uploading them… There may be a post where you need to go experience a service… It really varies!

13. Are you wearing jeans/skirt right now or are you wearing pajama bottoms?
I’m in my pyjamas. It’s not YouTube so you can’t see me! I decided I would be comfortable as I felt crap after falling asleep in the chair and decided to have my shower to rejuvinate myself so that this post wouldn’t just consist of me going “KBLUBILUBjldksfjrgbafjbgljdf” or similar! 😛

14. What are you most proud of in your life?
My family. They are awesome and have made me who I am. My parents, my sister, my extended family and my friends who are so close they may as well be family – I am so proud of them all!

So that’s it for me! I’m headed back to bed now like the oldie that I am! 😛 Hope you are all well!

This entry was posted in #blogboost, Bloggers, Tag and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

