A moment of madness: Bargainous Illamasqua Haul

So a few of the bloggers on Twitter that I chat with regularly invested in Illasmasqua boxes from Debenhams this week. There are (were!) two different types of boxes: a nail and eyes box retailing at €20 and the Alter Ego Mystery Selection box retailing for €23. Both boxes were reduced to these prices in the sales and allegedly the contents are worth over 4 times what the boxes actually cost. I was considering getting the Alter Ego box but when I finally decided to go for it, it was sold out online. 😦 I found myself in Dublin today so I made my way to Debenhams on Henry Street as the word on Twitter was that the boxes could be found there.

Illasmasqua Alter Ego Box Electrum Collide

Each of the Alter Ego boxes has six items in it. Two of these items you know in advance – Collide nail varnish and Electrum Liquid Metal metallic cream. The other four items in each box are a surprise but you do know that you will be getting an Intense Lipgloss, a lipstick, a  powder blusher and a powder eyeshadow.

The first box I picked up when I went into Debenhams had already been opened so I had a peek inside and *really* liked the surprise contents. I had already decided that I was getting two boxes as I am hoping to do a giveaway in future and thought some Illamasqua products would be lovely to give a reader so I actually decided to pick up the one I had looked in and two more… I can resist anything but temptation!

Alter ego mystery boxes

It’s not really obvious from the pictures but there was a good bit of repetition between the boxes. I ended up with 2 of the same in lipstick, blusher and eyeshadow – on top of having 3 each of the nail varnish and liquid metal.

Alter Ego mystery box contents Illasmasqua

Eyeshadow: Lestat (x2), Dance
Lipstick: Tramp (x2), Welt
Powder Blusher: Unrequited (x2), Expose
Intense Lipgloss: Femme, Absorb, Fierce

Overall I’m really happy with the boxes and feel that for €69 I got some great items. I was afraid I would get some crazy unwearable colours but I would wear everything that I got except the nail varnish. I’m also really excited to do a giveaway down the line and give away the duplicates that I got… 😉

This entry was posted in #blogboost, Bargain, Beauty Boxes, Eyes, Haul, Lips, Makeup, Nails and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A moment of madness: Bargainous Illamasqua Haul

  1. Thomas says:

    I hate dupes but I’m envious you got some discontinued shades xxxx

  2. Pingback: Illamasqua Alter Ego Mystery Selection Box | The Glamour Nazi

  3. BeautyAngel says:

    Oh my god, it’s fab isn’t it!! I wasnt expecting it to be so good, I saw them still there the other day still seriously considering getting another alter ego one!!

Leave a Reply

