#JuneBBC Day 25: Primer – do you use it?

Short answer – yes!

primers

As you can see I have a rather extensive collection of primers. I suspect that Donna (NotJustInside) has a larger collection so if you are into primers please check out her blog!

In the picture above I have posted I have divided my collection into three types of primers: face primers, face primers with highlighters and eye primers.

Face Primers:
Left-Right: Inglot primer, Rimmel Fix and Perfect primer, Collection 2000 Primed and Ready, Murad Hybrid Skin Perfecting Primer, Smashbox Colour Corrector primer and Benefit Porefessional.

Out of all of these my most used is the Rimmel primer. I find a little goes a long way and I don’t find it too heavy on my skin. I have enjoyed using both the Inglot primer and the Smashbox one but found that both felt heavier on my skin and felt they would be more suited when foundation needed to last a particularly long time. The Collection, Murad and Benefit primers are all samples that I received in beauty boxes or magazines and I haven’t used them enough to really give a view on them to date. I will get working on this!

Face primers with highlighter:
Left-Right: Smashbox Hybrid 2 in 1 Luminizing Primer (as seen in this post), Catrice Illuminating Base (limited edition) and Benefit That Gal.

I have to be honest and say that these three primers are completely neglected in my collection. I don’t use them and instead apply powder highlighter as part of my makeup to highlight where I need it. Since writing about the Smashbox primer in my Disappointing Buys post I have tried to play with it once or twice and it seeming like it may be more usable than I thought but it still seems like a lot of work so I will keep you posted if it becomes a love!

Eye Primers:
Left-Right: Essence I Heart Stage (post here), Urban Decay Eden, Urban Decay Original, NYX Eyeshadow Base.

Out of all of these the Essence primer is the one I rate the highest. I have a few of the Urban Decay primers as they tend to come with the palettes so I am trying to use them up. The Eden primer is particularly good as it is skin toned (like the Essence one) and covers any imperfections or discolouration you may have on your eyelids. Given that the Essence primer was €3.09 when I checked last and the Urban Decay primers are €11 for the sample size or €20 for the full size I know which one I will be repurchasing when I get to the end of my stash!

Do you use primers? If so, which ones? If you would like to see a more indepth review of any of the above products please let me know in the comments!

signature

This entry was posted in #JuneBBC, Bargain, Eyes, Makeup and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to #JuneBBC Day 25: Primer – do you use it?

  1. I love the porefessional by Benefit but have yet to buy the full size, I have a few small sample sizes knocking about from the magazines. I might have to take the plunge soon!

  2. I’m still trying to find a good primer for me, I took the plunge and got the smashbox one but I found it did nothing for my skin really. The benefit one dried out my skin really bad too. Will have to try the Rimmel one! I always use the I heart stage essence one though:)

    • I wonder what it is in them that dries you out? I find the Rimmel one quite good in that it is easy to apply and doesn’t feel like it is clogging my skin. I also feel like it traps some of the moisture in but that could just be wishful thinking!

  3. ciaraj22 says:

    I have the Clarins Instant Smooth primer which I REALLY love! 🙂 It last for FOREVER! 🙂 I also like the Bourjois one, but it uses itself up in no time at all, which just won’t do!

    Catrice did a brilliant eye primer which I actually prefer to the UD Primer Potion, but I can’t seem to find it at the moment so I’m worried that it’s discontinued! :-O #makeupwoes 😛

  4. Your right, I have a truck full of primers lol

  5. Ah I love That Gal and have been meaning to buy it again for ages!

Leave a Reply

