#JuneBBC Day 6: Disappointing Buys

We’ve all had them and we’re kidding ourselves if we say we haven’t. You know those products that you yearn for for ages and finally get – only to be disappointed. Or that impulse buy that you just *have* to have because in that moment you just know it’s going to be ‘The One’ – the product you will love forever… Only it’s not! Instead these products tend to sit in my house, unloved, as I have no idea what to do with them and if I am being honest am reluctant to admit I spent money on something I probably shouldn’t so decide to revert to a state of denial.

Now, for me, I never expect moisturisers or foundations to be a success. I have very fussy skin so I don’t get my hopes up around these products. As a result, when they don’t work out I don’t end up disappointed – so there are none in this post. The items in this post are items I expected to love and wanted to love that instead fell flat.

OPI Katy Perry minis set, Sleek iDivine Matte palettes, Dainty Doll concealer pens

OPI Katy Perry minis set, Sleek iDivine Matte palettes, Dainty Doll concealer pens

First up is the OPI Katy Perry mini set. I saw this online and fell in love with it. It was priced at about €20 originally and I just couldn’t justify it but I kept going back to look on various websites. Every time I saw it sell out on another website my heart broke a little. Eventually I found it reduced to about €13 and I pounced. I will never forget that the poor postman arrived just as I was leaving for work so this little set was opened in the car and I thought lunchtime was never going to come so I could paint my nails… The disappointment! 😦 I thought the coverage was desperate. What I did manage to get on chipped off in no time at all. It just wasn’t meant to be!

Sleek iDivine Palettes were another thing that I lusted over online. They sold out so quickly when they were launched and I just loved the idea of two palettes full of mattes. There’s nothing wrong with these palettes per say but I think Inglot have spoilt me for any other brand. I have never even used these palettes other than to swatch them. I don’t like the selection of colours and I find that they are a little bit chalky!

Recently Dainty Doll has dropped dramatically in price and also seemed to be more available so I decided to give them a go. I opted for the Dainty Doll concealer pens as it can be very difficult to get a pale concealer and the pen seemed like a great idea. I got my delivery quickly but could not get the pens to release any product so a second order was dispatched. The second lot were slightly better in that *eventually* some product would come out but I have found it to be sporadic and that the concealer itself is not a great consistency. It is very patchy and I just cannot get it to sit well on my skin. I think I’ll be sticking with my Collection concealer that everyone raves about!

MAC Sigma

Sigma Dry ‘n’ Shape, MAC Archie’s Girls lipstick in ???

These two products might be a little controversial.
I had lusted after the Sigma Dry ‘n’ Shape for about a year when I finally caved and bought it. My big problem with this is that it is only suitable for larger brushes – something I didn’t realise at the time of buying it despite having read every review on it that I could find. When I do my brushes I tend to only have 4-5 bigger brushes to wash so this is a total waste! I continue to dry my brushes in the hotpress/airing cupboard and that does just fine so it’s €32 I didn’t need to spend.

MAC Archie’s Girls Lipstick in Girl Next Door. I really wanted a light pink lipstick and happened to see this when I was picking up two of the other lipsticks in BT2 for a friend so I grabbed it. It’s a sheer blue toned pink but as it is so sheer I may as well be using slightly tinted vaseline on my lips. €19.50 down the drain purely because I bought on impulse and didn’t research the product.

Soap & Glory Glow All Out highlighter, Smashbox Hybrid 2 in 1 Luminizing Primer in Bare Canvas

Soap & Glory Glow All Out highlighter, Smashbox Hybrid 2 in 1 Luminizing Primer in Bare Canvas

I love most of the Soap and Glory cosmetics. The bronzer, translucent powder and eyeshadows are staples for me. The Soap & Glory Glow All Out highlighter was a massive disappointment. I found it to be incredibly chalky and difficult to get a good result from. It’s also a strange salmon colour rather than the champagne or irridescent shades I usually favour. I could talk more about it but the reality is that I don’t like it and other brands are doing it a lot better.

Smashbox Hybrid 2 in 1 Luminizing Primer in Bare Canvas is probably the product I have neglected for the longest time. In fact, I should probably dump it by now. As a lover of primer and highlighter I thought this was going to be the business. Instead I ended up looking like a glitterball! It was just too much and as a result it has been relegated to the back of a drawer.

What do you think of the products I have listed? Did you find any of them disappointing or are there any of them that you love and completely disagree with me? What is your most disappointing product?

signature

This entry was posted in #JuneBBC, Makeup, Nails, Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to #JuneBBC Day 6: Disappointing Buys

  1. Sharon says:

    I went through a phase of buying the OPI mini sets as they came out and I’ve no idea why, because the brushes are horrible, they’re overpriced, and they’re crap. I’ve banned myself from buying any more, sure for the price of one set you’d have a couple of decent China Glazes or Essies. Mad! I have 2 sleek palettes that I don’t use either, I’ve been using a Khroma palette since I got it. I’m having internet issues atm but I really want to do this post at some stage, great idea and congrats on the #BBC, it’s doing really well xx

  2. I’m surprised to hear about the katy perry minis being bad! But then again I have all the full sized bottles and am in love! I’m glad I didn’t order those concealer pens now!

    • I was totally gutted about them! When I came up with this post title the OPI set was the first thing to come to mind and I have it ages. I possibly need therapy for the disappointment! πŸ˜‰

  3. Really enjoying reading everything going up for #JuneBBC i was going to do it but ended up that i was going to be away and would miss 5 of them 😦 hope a July one will take place x

    • It’s not too late to join in and a few of the girls have missed a few days. You could do the same topics a month late either if you wanted! I doubt I’ll do another for July but if it goes well might do another in the autumn.

  4. Thank you, i will try i was just looking back over the topics so will see if i can lock myself in a room over the weekend and get writing in advance and post them up as the days go along then πŸ™‚

  5. Pingback: #JuneBBC Day 25: Primer – do you use it? | girlfridays beauty blog

Leave a Reply

