#BEDM Day 30 & #ThinThursday – life update

As I mentioned in my ‘morning ritual’ post I had a hospital appointment yesterday. I have now officially been diagnosed with PCOS. I’ve had all the symptoms for years so it was a relief to finally get the diagnosis and not have to worry that it might be something else or just plain that I was going mad. I’m facing into a new medication and the fear that it might not agree with me as I have had an issue with a similar medication in the past. I’ve also got what they think is a dermoid cyst on one of my ovaries so that needs further investigating. It means I am also facing an MRI in the next few months which is a bit terrifying as I am claustrophobic!

Between all of this, the diabetes and all the associated stuff I am just very glad that I am a human and not an animals as I’m pretty sure I’d have been put to sleep by now! 😛

On the plus side, the consultant was very pleased with how the weightloss is coming on. I am in or around the same weight I was when last weighed according to the scales today – allowing for some discrepancies! I’m happy enough with this as I know I was off the wagon for a bit and needed to get myself back on track. 🙂

It has been a busy day as in addition to the medical stuff I also met the very lovely Sarah from Rara Giggle’s Blog for a coffee and some chats, and I did a little bit of shopping in Cara Pharmacy as I was in Cavan anyway. I will blog about my haul ASAP as I got some real bargains!

I hope you are all well! Hope all of the #IrishBBloggers have checked out my post on #whatbloggersdidnext meetup and are ready for Saturday! Can’t wait to meet some more of you and catch up with others!

signature

This entry was posted in #BEDM, ThinThursday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to #BEDM Day 30 & #ThinThursday – life update

  1. Glitter Mama says:

    Ah hun sorry you’ve been diagnosed with that but at least now you know what it is and can try new tablets, I hope they agree with you!
    So excite for Saturday :))
    x

    • It’s actually a relief to have the diagnosis finally. I’ve suspected I’ve had it for about 10 years at this stage so at least now we can tackle it.

      Super excited for Saturday! Need to choose my outfit tonight. 🙂

  2. I hate MRI’s too if you’re really nervous your doc can give you a little tab to help keep you calm so don’t be afraid to ask beforehand if you’re very scared! The last one I was in had a mirror so you could actually see straight out which really helped as it gave the illusion of it being open

  3. Glamour & Go says:

    Just catching up with the #BEDM posts now and I just wanted to say that I’m sorry to hear about the PCOS, and I really hope the new medication works well and stays side effect free!

Leave a Reply

