#ThinThursday – Chicken Curry recipe

Last week I posted a bit about food so this week I am sharing probably my favourite recipe – Chicken Curry. I have always loved spicy food and since I have started making this myself I would never touch a jar of curry again. The added bonus being that it is healthy! I don’t do measurements as such so hopefully the recipe makes sense.

Chicken Curry

Ingredients:
diced chicken breast – I always ask the butcher to dice mine for me to save time.
diced onion
red pepper and yellow or orange pepper
mushrooms
sugar snap peas
baby sweetcorn
curry powder
stock cubes/pots
cornflour
rapeseed oil/olive oil

Optional – depending if I have them in the house
sultanas
granny smith apple
fresh pineapple
water chestnuts

Method:
Seal the chicken in a wok. I usually put some of the curry powder in at this stage so that the chicken is really well flavoured. I then add the onion and mushroom and saute them for a bit before adding the peppers, sugarsnap peas and baby sweetcorn. I make up about 700mls of stock using two stock pots and mix it with some more of the curry powder and add it all to the veg and chicken. I use some cornflour mixed with cold water to thicken the curry to a nice consistency.

If I am using sultanas I add them fairly early on in the process as they are nicest when they get to absorb some of the liquid. All of the other stuff I tend to add towards the end. I hate when the veg is too soft so I don’t cook it for too long. It’s all up to personal choice. I find that by having lots of different colours, textures and tastes in it that I enjoy it more and it keeps me full for longer the more veg there is in it. I serve this with brown rice of late and it’s not as bad as I had expected! 😉

Let me know if you try it! Have you any old reliable recipes that you turn to? Feel free to share!

Signature

This entry was posted in personal, ThinThursday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #ThinThursday – Chicken Curry recipe

  1. Glitter Mama says:

    Thats a change from the way I’d usually make my curry, looks yummy! I always ask the butchers to dice my chicken too, saves me having to touch it, that makes me squirmish, ugh haha! xx

    • It makes it so much easier when you can avoid the bits you hate doesn’t it! I also try buy the trays of chopped onion when I can as its another hated job! I figure when I’m saving on takeaways etc that its a way of treating myself.

Leave a Reply

