#ThinThursday – Week 3

It’s Thursday again and I am hoping to get this #ThinThursday post up on the right day by the skin of my teeth! This week has been a mixed bag for me as due to the weather I haven’t been getting as much exercise as I would like but on the plus side due to actually being organised for a change I am eating really well and feeling the benefits. As a diabetic I aim to keep my blood glucose levels between 4 and 7 and overall I have managed that this week which is great.

I am not a naturally organised person. I live my life in organised chaos if I am honest. My car generally looks like a whirlwind has gone through it. I have piles of stuff in various places throughout my house that only make sense to me. This is fine for 90% of the time but since being diagnosed as diabetic I have found that I need to be more organised. I can’t just eat on the run as I need to consider the sugar, carbohydrate and fat content of everything I eat or drink. I need to be mindful to eat often enough and to eat the right things. Ordering out is more difficult as I get to grips with all the changes. I was never a breakfast person, always preferring those extra few minutes in bed. Now, I have to eat breakfast, and lunch, and dinner. I need to be organised to ensure that I have the right foods available and to know my schedule so I know in advance what type of meals will fit my plans best so I don’t make the wrong choices.

I don’t think this level of organisation is unusual for anyone trying to make a lifestyle change. That’s what this is for me, it’s not a diet – it’s the way I have to live my life now. I have gotten into the habit of doing a big (online) grocery shop every few weeks to stock up on essentials (and not be tempted by the sweet aisle or special offers). I make meal plans, keep recipes handy and compose shopping lists to ensure I have a relatively varied diet that works with my lifestyle. If there is a particular food I want, I have it. I just try to be sure I have the healthiest version of it that I can. Being this organised helps me stick to the plan and makes life easier all around. It also helps me to save money as I don’t end up spending €5+ each day on lunch and God knows what amount on takeaways in addition to making sure I am only buying the food I will eat and not wasting anything.

Some of my healthy meals: chicken curry, noodles and stirfry and quorn chilli

This weeks meal plan included delights such as fish cakes, rainbow trout, green leaf salad, spicy tomato and bean soup, chicken and vegetable stew, lots of berries and yogurts for breakfast, snack a jack flavoured rice cakes as my treat and lashings of sugar free gum and diet coke. I don’t feel like I’ve missed out on anything but I am craving a curry so I’ll be cooking my favourite recipe at the weekend.

Are there any particular foods that you go to as a healthy option? Are there any meals you would like to try to find a low fat version of?

This entry was posted in personal, ThinThursday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to #ThinThursday – Week 3

  1. We’re veggie so thankfully quorn and veggies are always a low fat option!

  2. Glitter Mama says:

    You’ll have to show us some of your lovely recipies, Iove chilli con carne and all that. Your doing great x

  3. Katie Larkin says:

    Those noodles look sooooo yummy!! Actually all the food looks great!

Leave a Reply

