Review: Emotional Brilliance – Decisive and Wise

On 21st July Lush launched their “Word-up” (aka make-up) range which is known as Emotional Brilliance (here). The premise behind the range is that we subconsciously associate certain colours with certain emotions. When the range was being drawn up the boffins at Lush gave people certain words and asked them to choose what colour (out of hundreds of shades) matched. In all cases there was an overwhelming majority for one colour so the word/emotion and the colour were matched. I’m not explaining it particularly well but hopefully you’re getting the idea!

The end result of the research is a range of 32 “emotions” and 4 “desert island” items. The emotions are liquid lipsticks, eyeliners and liquid eyeshadows. The desert island items are your more basic items: mascara, translucent powder and two skin tints (highlighter and bronzer) which add to the existing skin tint range.

I was lucky enough to have a reading from Hilmar during the online launch party for emotional brilliance and subsequently went on to buy two of my emotions/colours: Decisive and Wise.

Decisive is a vintage cherry red liquid lip colour. I’ve only worn it once or twice since getting it but it is a perfect colour and lasts really well. A little goes a long way with this product and using too much can make for messy results. You will need a mirror to apply this as it is highly pigmented and will stain your skin somewhat.

Wise is a sage green liquid eyeshadow. On first look it doesn’t look like the most wearable of colours but I have paired this with gold eyeshadow in the crease and I think it looks great! It’s a very autumnal shade in my opinion but I’m sure you could pair it with other colours for a brighter more summery look!

Have you tried out the ‘game’ on the website to see what your colours are? Do you have certain colours that you link with certain emotions?

This entry was posted in Lips, Makeup and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Review: Emotional Brilliance – Decisive and Wise

  1. Jenny says:

    Going to have to give this a try!

    • If you live near a store I’d definitely recommend popping in and getting a reading done. I did it last weekend with my mum and it was great fun. You also use such a small amount of the products that they work out great value!

  2. Naomi says:

    I’m really intrigued by this range but I haven’t tried any of the products yet. Looks interesting!

    • It’s an interesting concept but I am taking it with a pinch of salt to be honest. I do however love the products and packaging. Am hoping to pick up some more bits so will blog more when I get them and give an update on how I am getting on with the two I already have!

  3. Rosie says:

    I really like the look of the colours and consistency, although the generic packaging doesn’t inspire me v much! That red is gorgeous though, I think I’ll give it a go! 🙂

  4. I really want to go and have a look at the new Emotional Brilliance range! Not keen on getting hassled by the Lush staff though :\

    • I find if you say to them that you’ll get them if you need them they generally back off. They can be a bit over enthusiastic but it’s really just because they love the products and want you to have a good experience.

  5. Pingback: #JuneBBC Day 7: Favourite lip product | girlfridays beauty blog

  6. Pingback: Lush Pucker Up for Record Breaking #crueltyfreekisses | girlfridays beauty blog

  7. Pingback: Lush Emotional Brilliance – Liquid Lipsticks | girlfridays beauty blog

Leave a Reply

