She Said Beauty Box – August 2012

Yup, it’s the second of August and my She Said Beauty box is already with me… In Ireland! Take that ‘other companies’! 😛

There is only one full sized item this month: Balance Me Rose Otto Intensive Lip Salve. This was recently in Glamour magazine as part of the Balance Me giveaway as far as I know but I couldn’t find this particular one anywhere then. As a result I was very glad to get this but I’m not sure how I’d feel if I had gotten it at that time. Initial reaction is that I adore the scent and a little goes a long way!

Samples sizes in the box this month are a bit of a random bunch. There’s Papier Poudré Rachel Powdered Paper, White Glo Professional Choice toothpaste, Redken Color Extend Radiant-10 and Absolutely Flawless Nail Foils.

Papier Poudré Rachel Powdered Paper is something completely new to me. I have dry skin so I have never really taken note of blotting papers. I’m not sure I’ll get to use them properly but they’re nice to have and this is a brand I had never heard of before which is part of what I love about these boxes!

I’m pretty certain that White Glo Professional Choice toothpaste was included in another beauty box in the last year. To be honest, I thought it was a strange choice then and I still do.

Redken Color Extend Radiant-10 is a multi-benefit treatment spray for colour treated hair. This is something I am looking forward to trying but given that my hair is so thick I’m not sure I will be able to give it an adequate review.

Absolutely Flawless Nail Foils were also included in the box. There are 16 foils in this set which makes it a half of a full sized purchase. I have so much nail varnish that I can’t see myself using these. The design I got is one I could recreate using a crackle polish so it doesn’t really appeal to me. If I had gotten one of the many other available designs I would possibly be tempted. It’s great to see how the price of nail foils has come down in the last year though as the full set of these is priced at only £1.90 making them very affordable.

The Bonus item this month is 4711 Eau De Cologne. I’m not keen on the smell but as I was in Cologne five years ago and saw where this originated it brought back good memories for me! (Hence the addition to the pic above!) You can’t put a price on that! 😉

I’ve worked out approximate values from the card enclosed in the box:
Balance Me Rose Otto Intensive Lip Salve (Full size – 10ml) worth £12
Papier Poudré Rachel Powdered Paper (sample – 1 booklet/20 sheets) worth approximately £1.33
White Glo Professional Choice toothpaste (sample – 24g) worth approximately 65 pence
Redken Color Extend Radiant-10 (sample – 30ml) worth approximately £3.53
Absolutely Flawless Nail Foils (sample – 16 foils) worth approximately 95 pence
4711 Eau De Cologne (sample – 3ml) worth approximately 51 pence

That makes the total value of this box approximately £18.97. That’s still a lot more than I paid for it so I’m not disappointed but it is worth considerably less than the last two boxes and if I had gotten this Balance Me product in Glamour I really wouldn’t be impressed!

What do you think of this box? Do you subscribe to any beauty boxes?

This entry was posted in Beauty Boxes, Hair, Lips, Nails, Perfume and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

